Radiation Safety

radiation symbolThe use of radioactive materials at Williams College is regulated by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The College license is issued by the Radiation Control Program of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. The Radiation Safety Program at Williams is under the direction of the Radiation Safety Committee, which receives its authority from the office of the Provost of the College. Chair of the committee is the Radiation Safety Officer, Dr. Anne R. Skinner. The Committee is responsible for establishing and maintaining a safety program that will minimize the risks associated with the handling of radioactive materials, and which will assure full College compliance with all applicable government regulations. The Committee meets quarterly on a routine basis, and would meet at other times if needed.