Chemical & Biological Safety

lab safetyThe Chemical and Biological Safety Committee is responsible for the compliance by Williams College with a number of state and federal laws on environmental and occupational safety issues. The immediate concern of the committee is those regulations dealing with involuntary exposure to hazardous materials, especially exposure by those who do not control the substance being used. The committee meets to review labeling, training, use, storage, and disposal techniques used by all College departments that deal with hazardous materials.

The Chemical Hygiene Officer supervises the temporary storage and disposal of hazardous chemicals for both academic and service departments. The committee is composed of the chemical Hygiene Officer and at least one representative of each department that uses hazardous materials for any purpose: teaching, research, or routine maintenance.

Committee Members

  • Norm Bell, Chemical Safety Officer and Chair
  • Dave Boyer, Campus Safety
  • Phoebe Cohen, Geosciences
  • Kevin Forkey, Physics
  • Gary Guerin, Athletics
  • C.J. Gillig, Psychology
  • Pete Haig, Facilities
  • Drew Jones, Center for Environmental Studies
  • Joseph Moran, Safety and Environmental Compliance
  • Sharon Marceau, Dining Services
  • David Morris, Theatre
  • Hideyo Okamura, WCMA
  • Doug Paisley, Art
  • Anne Skinner, Chemistry
  • Audrey Werner, Biology
  • Chris Winters/Matt Sheehy

Chemical Hygiene Plan text

Blood Borne Pathogen Plan text

Hazard Communication Plan text